Search Here

Josh Van White

Home / Josh Van White

Josh Van White Josh Van White Josh Van White

Josh Van White

Spread the love


Josh Van White is a dynamic indie artist known for his introspective lyricism and innovative soundscapes that blend elements of indie rock, synthpop, and alternative music. Emerging from his beginnings in the band Modest Apollo, Van White has carved a distinct solo path since moving to Toronto, exploring a variety of musical styles and influences. His music evokes the layered sounds of bands like MGMT, Cage the Elephant, and Arcade Fire, while maintaining a unique voice that resonates with a growing audience of indie music aficionados.

Since his debut solo LP, “Pacific Transmissions,” Josh Van White has consistently pushed the boundaries of his music, experimenting with different sounds and thematic content across a series of well-received singles. His work not only showcases his versatility as a musician but also his deep commitment to addressing complex emotional and philosophical questions through his art.

Location: Toronto, Canada
Indie, Indie Rock
MGMT, Cage the Elephant, Arcade Fire, Smashing Pumpkins



Josh Van White first burst onto the scene with the band Modest Apollo’s 2018 album Postsocial. After graduating from university, he left the rock outfit and moved to Toronto where he played around with different genres and sounds, resulting in a few releases under various pseudonyms. Van White finally found his sound with the non-album singles “Let’s Dance” and “See All the People”, leading to his debut solo LP Pacific Transmissions. Since the release of his album, he has put out a handful of singles including “Fortune’s Favourite”, “Change Too Much”, and “Little Joys”, all taking different approaches to the 80’s alternative style.

In his latest release, “Strange Kind of Heaven,” Van White takes a step away from the synthpop stylings of his last two singles, instead opting for a modern indie sound. Taking inspiration from acts like MGMT, Cage the Elephant, and Arcade Fire; this new track pairs simple, guitar-based instrumentation with the existential logistics of an afterlife.



Run Time: 5:17

Release Date: April 19, 2024

Run Time: 4:01

Release Date: December 1, 2023

Josh Van White – Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Drums, Synthesizer
Sophie Mira – Backing Vocals

Run Time: 5:53

Release Date: July 28, 2023

Run Time: 4:17

Release Date: April 28, 2023

Mixed and mastered by Bloom Wave mixing

1. Let’s Dance – 05:10

2. See All the People – 03:36

Release Date: January 23, 2023

1. Repeating Goodbye 01:46
2. Diamonds in Your Eyes 04:13
3. When (feat. Sophie Mira) 04:06
4. I Want to be Afraid of the Dark 05:42
5. Is Love Electric? 04:25
6. This Time Last Year 05:06
7. Going Away 07:00
8. Let’s Dance 05:10
Release Date: November 4, 2022

Run Time: 5:42
Release Date: November 4, 2022

Run Time: 4:25
Release Date: August 12, 2022



Coming Soon




Press Clippings: